Vehicular Homicide in Colorado

Vehicular Homicide in Colorado | Colorado Springs Wrongful Death

Update on Fatal Hit-and-Run in Colorado Springs

On February 13th a tragic hit-and-run accident occurred in Colorado Springs, leaving one man dead and another severely injured. The two men, both employees of Allied Plumbing, were unloading equipment from their van on North Nevada Avenue when an SUV crashed into a parked car in front of them. The collision rammed the parked car into the two men, pinning them against their van.

The driver of the SUV fled the scene, leaving his female passenger, who reportedly lied about what happened. The 32-year-old driver had been previously cited for driving with a suspended license as well as assault and DUI.

A week after the deadly accident, and after several pleas for justice from the victims’ families, the driver finally turned himself in to authorities. He’s now facing several charges including reckless driving, driving with a suspended license, as well as vehicular homicide which is a Class 3 felony.

The survivor of the hit-and-run recently spoke of the incident, staying optimistic that one day he’ll be able to walk again as the doctors have suggested. The financial burden seems to be as daunting as the physical, however, as he’s already amassed well over 350,000 dollars in medical bills.

A recent fundraiser was held at the Stargazers Theater to help raise money for the mounting medical costs.

Vehicular Homicide Charges in Colorado

The Colorado Law of Vehicular Homicide states “if a person operates or drives a motor vehicle in a reckless manner, and such conduct is the proximate cause of the death of another, such person commits vehicular homicide.”

Colorado Springs Hit-and-Run is Vehicular HomicideVehicular Homicide is most often applied in cases where someone was killed by a driver who was under the influence of alcohol or other substances, but that’s not always the case. Driving that leads to a death, even if unintentional, can be labeled a vehicular homicide if the driving is proven to be reckless and dangerous.

Class 3 Felony, such as the one the Colorado Springs driver is likely to be charged with, carries a minimum prison sentence of 4 years, with a maximum sentence of 12 years.

Colorado Springs Wrongful Death Lawyer

If you have lost a loved one in a Colorado Springs automobile accident, contact Heuser and Heuser today. You can get free, no obligation legal advice from an experienced wrongful death lawyer. Attorney Gordon Heuser understands how difficult this time is for the family and always treats his clients with the care and respect they deserve.

You can get free, no obligation legal advice from an experienced wrongful death lawyer.