Personal Injury Lawsuit
There are multiple accident cases that can result in a personal injury lawsuit. Car accidents, pet attacks, and of course assault are just three of them. Personal injury lawsuits are exactly what they sound like; a case formalized in course resulting from an injury experienced. It is not common for cases of these nature to make it to court. Often, personal injury lawsuits are handled outside of court to keep costs low and save time.
Statute Of Limitations
So how long do you have to file a personal injury lawsuit? Well, before we get in to that let’s talk about the proverbial running clock. The Statute of Limitations is like an expiration date that allows a reasonable amount of time to file lawsuits. Anything outside of the timeline particular to the state you live in cannot hold up in court.
There are different timelines to file based on the nature of the case. For Colorado specifically, The Statute of Limitations looks something like this:
– Injury to person: 2 years unless it’s from a motor vehicle; then it’s 3 years.
– Slander: 1 year.
– Fraud: 1 year.
– Personal property damage: 3 years if from use of a motor vehicle.
– Professional Malpractice: 2 years.
Above are just some of the cases that fall under The Statute of Limitations.
If you’re injured in an accident it is recommended that you see a doctor right away. This is important for both your well-being and potential injury case. If you allow too much time to elapse between your accident and your treatment, the insurance company will use it against you by asserting that you aren’t as injured as you claim to be.
You have two years to file a personal injury lawsuit for something like a slip and fall accident or a dog bite. You have three years to file if you’re injured in a car accident. That said, it’s best not to put this off. If you’re hurt in an accident, you need speak to a personal injury attorney as soon as possible.
Workers’ Comp Injury Cases
Job injuries are more complex. Public and private employers in Colorado, with limited exceptions, must provide workers’ compensation coverage for their employees if one or more full- or part-time persons are employed. The workers’ compensation program required by the government states that companies have to provide medical, monetary, and supportive assistance to employees that are injured on the job.
This is not contingent on the personal benefits/insurance that are given to you from your employer. If you’re hurt at work, you must notify your employer immediately and get the medical attention you need as soon as possible. Your employer is required by law to report your injury to the insurance company within 10 days. There are a lot of rules associated with workers’ compensation, and it’s easy to overlook something. The best way to make sure you get what you’re entitled to is to consult with a personal injury lawyer. Allowing too much time to pass can have severe consequences if your injuries turn out to be more serious than you previously thought.
Seek Legal Council
Misunderstanding The Statue of Limitations is fairly easy to do when filing a personal injury case or any other case for that matter. Working with a professional is a guaranteed way to ensure the best possible results. For a free case review contact Heuser & Heuser, L.L.P., your personal injury attorneys for the state of Colorado.