Deadlines are something we are all familiar with in one way or another. Employers, professors, and landlords all impose deadlines that we must either meet or face consequences for missing. Similarly, when you choose to take legal action against a person or entity that harmed you, you will face strict deadlines that could make or break your case.
The deadline for filing legal claims is known as the ‘statute of limitations,’ and it varies by state and case type. In this blog post, we’ll dive into the specifics of the statute of limitations for personal injury lawsuits in Colorado Springs so that you can make informed decisions about your case.
WHAT ARE COLORADO’S DEADLINES?
So, how long does Colorado law give injured individuals to file a claim? The answer actually depends on the cause of the injury. In most personal injury cases, there is a 2-year statute of limitations, but in the case of a motor vehicle accident, the statute of limitations is extended to 3 years.
This means, for example, that if you were injured in a slip and fall or harmed by a defective product, you have 2 years from the date of the injury to file your personal injury claim. On the other hand, if you were in a car crash, a collision with a semi-truck, or a motorcycle accident, your claim must be filed within 3 years of the accident. Missing these deadlines means losing the chance to seek any compensation at all for your injuries.
On the topic of time-sensitive matters, we strongly recommend seeking medical attention as soon as possible after the accident. This is essential to both your health and your case as it will provide evidence of your injuries and the extent of your damages. A medical professional can provide an expert opinion on the cause of your injuries which can be crucial in proving negligence. Delaying medical treatment can not only harm your health but can also weaken your case, by making it harder to prove that your injuries are the result of the accident.
WHAT ABOUT WORKERS’ COMP?
Job injuries can be a trickier matter, especially when it comes to navigating the workers’ comp system in Colorado. Public and private employers in the state, with limited exceptions, are required to provide workers’ compensation coverage for their employees if they have one or more full-time or part-time persons on their payroll. The program is designed to provide no-fault assistance to employees who are injured on the job, regardless of any personal benefits or insurance provided by the employer.
As with personal injury cases, time is of the essence when it comes to reporting a job injury. According to Colorado law, employees have just 4 days to report their injury to their employer, and the employer has 10 days to report it to their workers’ comp insurance provider. The sooner you report your injury and seek medical attention, the better your chances of receiving benefits promptly and avoiding any missed deadlines.
Workers’ comp laws and regulations can be complex and easy to overlook, so it’s always a good idea to consult with a personal injury attorney. Don’t let too much time pass before seeking legal advice, though, as the consequences can be severe if your injuries turn out to be more serious than initially thought.
WE’RE ON TOP OF IT!
Being aware of the deadlines and taking action as soon as possible will help to protect your rights and improve your chances of being compensated for your injuries. Working with one of our Colorado Springs personal injury attorneys can help ensure that you don’t miss any important deadlines and that your case is handled properly.
Timely action is vital when it comes to personal injury cases, don’t hesitate! Contact us for your free consultation to get started immediately. With the help of Heuser & Heuser, L.L.P., you can rest assured that your case is in good hands and you won’t be missing any important deadlines. We’re on top of it, so you don’t have to be.