View Post

From Alamosa to The Springs, CSP says "Buckle Up!"

It’s that time of year again! Time to gather with friends and family, share a meal and count our blessings. And it’s time for TV newscasts to repeatedly remind us that the biggest brunt of holiday travel happens during Thanksgiving weekend.

The Colorado State Police want to keep the holiday safe for travelers. Throughout this holiday weekend, patrols from Alamosa to Colorado Springs will watch for travelers who are drinking and driving and/or not wearing seat belts.

We know the reading is as dry as little Henry’s school reenactment of the first Thanksgiving, but take just a minute before you hit the road to review Colorado state seat belt laws. And don’t forget the Child Passenger Law that went into effect less than three months ago. Here’s what you should know

View Post

Safety Seats Save Lives During Car Accidents

With the past two blogs, we began investigating concepts that could lead to lower car accident costs for Colorado Springs and the entire country. Many safety associations believe cell phone use and defective vehicles are two examples of recently identified sources for car accidents that have garnered a disproportionate amount of attention. The truth is that the majority of car accidents and the resulting injuries come from other causes. This week is National Child Passenger Safety Week, and the use of child safety seats is a traffic safety issue that needs to get more attention, say the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety and the Centers for Disease Control (CDC). Let’s hope that child safety seat education can save more young lives beginning this very week. The nationwide campaign is a great time to remind Coloradans of the State’s updated safety seat law that went into effect August 1.

View Post

Booster Seat Blitz

Most parents assume child restraint laws apply only to infant and toddler age groups. Years ago, they did. But, a new Colorado Child Passenger Safety Law now extends car seat or booster seat requirements to all passengers 7-years-old and younger and also maps out requirements for children up to age 16. Previously, Colorado law required only children 5 years of age and younger to ride in car seats or booster seats. But as of Sunday, Aug. 1, safety regulations encompass a much greater number of young people riding in passenger vehicles. According to the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, car wrecks are the greatest cause of accident injury deaths for children between age 1 and 14. In an attempt to decrease this statistic, the state’s new passenger restraint guidelines address height and weight of child passengers to at least the same extent, if not more so, as the child’s age.